How to Make FADS™

FADS goes to MoMA

with one comment

So I thought id go to the BK Museum (sounds like an antiquated hamburger) day before yesterday because of the day off. I forgot that it was closed Mondays and Tuesdays. Nice one, Brooklyn museum I was counting on you, way to be a jerk. Anyway, didn’t have to spend too much time thinking before I realized that my best bet would be to check out the Museum of Modern Art. I couldn’t remember the last time I had gone so I was looking forward to what I’d been missing out on

When I got to the general area, the first thing I noticed was this enclosure over here, right outside of the museum

I got into MoMA through their gift shop (I’ll definitely be doing that more often) and looked around. Note to everybody: the Moma store is sick, its like a huge version of the one at the Cooper-Hewitt museum, that, for those of you who don’t know, stocks anything that looks nice and functions well at the same time. Basically, its a design museum in itself but for people who want to buy shit.

I’d honestly have to recommend you visit on a weekday because when I was there, everything was packed full of new yorkers and tourists alike.

I think Its pretty funny when you’re in a tight space and you don’t know what language to use when maneuvering around crowds of people. At the same time i think Its actually funnier when you realize that even if you did know what language to use, you probably couldn’t because you wouldn’t know how to speak it in the first place. Think about that.

Checking out the museum was fun but I was still there for the sake of the business, so I managed to find my way over to the info desk where it seemed feasible to introduce the magazine to the museum. Wits about me, I took a breath got what I came to do over with.

Jason, the guy looking busy over there on the right, heard me out and let me know how to get my press kit. Dude even printed me out a courtesy ticket that I had thirty minutes left to use. Awesome. The MoMA information duo of Jason and Dory, pictured above looking happy over there on the left, wished me luck and i was on my way. Thanks guys.

I swear, doing the whole indie-journalist thing is really something else, you actually get somewhat of a rush when you go places to talk to people about your project because how you present it and yourself constitutes how seriously you’re taken. So tension gone, I was relieved as hell after talking to the info desk and ready to check out the the outdoor exhibit I noticed earlier.

For some reason my brain told me that what I was looking for was in a courtyard, even though I saw the exhibit OUTside of the museum, and ended up in Moma’s Sculpture Garden. [st]Oops.

The scene was cool I guess, but I didn’t see any temporary marvels of modern architecture, nor did I see any indicators pointing to them. Very helpful, Moma, very helpful. I can easily find my way to your gelato but not your feature exhibit, that’s perfect, good job.

Looking for prefabricated buildings, not prefabricated diabetes.

Found it anyway

All I had to do was actually exit the museum. My bad Moma, sorry about that, “Comprerò il vostro gelato dopo domani, scusi, scusi.”

Needless to say, it was great, I mean you’ll read about the whole thing in THE PREMIERE ISSUE OF FADS™ but here’s a brief rundown.

There were like 5 pieces on display and to tell you the truth, they all had their ups and downs but as far as aesthetics go it was all ups.

One note to the designers of this guy though, shredded tuna already has a home, I don’t know how a person cold live in this thing without a chiropractor.

This stove was a hit… so was the drawer underneath it.

this floor was by far one of the most interesting I had seen all day.

this deck was unusually relaxing.

Overall it was a nice re-introductory to MoMA, especially seeing as I hadn’t stepped into any individual gallery let alone hall of the museum. Well be going back soon.

Written by Sulky

October 15, 2008 at 5:27 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Blipsterr

    JohhnyBoy

    October 21, 2008 at 6:35 pm


Leave a Reply

